Master 2 Arbitrage & Commerce International - Université Paris-Saclay

Main

Introduction

Who can still ignore International Arbitration Law in light of its ever greater importance? Both a theoretical and practical specialty, the law of international arbitration had to have a diploma that is fully dedicated to the mastery of its rules and the knowledge of its mechanisms. As part of the Paris-Saclay University, the University of Versailles offers such a training in the framework of its Master’s Degree in Arbitration & International Business.

A perfect mastery of Arbitration Law is necessarily accompanied by an excellent knowledge of Private International Law and International Trade Law. This is the reason why this Master’s Degree is conceived with the aim to achieve a perfect symbiosis between, on the one hand, International Arbitration, a course directed by Professor Thomas CLAY, and, on the other hand, International Trade Law, constituting a course directed by Dean Sandrine CLAVEL.

To achieve the best results and cultivate excellence, the Master’s Degree is sponsored by leading specialists in arbitration and international trade (Bernard HANOTIAU, Gabrielle KAUFMANN-KOHLER, Mauro RUBINO-SAMMARTANO, Johnny VEEDER and Arnoldo WALD) and enjoys partnerships directly related to arbitration and mediation. Whether they are academics or practitioners, the Master’s Degree speakers are all recognized actors in the world of arbitration, mediation and international trade. The best specialists share their knowledge and experience with students who can also count on their support, especially during the preparation of the various international arbitration and mediation competitions.

Directors

Honorary director

Mohamed Madkour tribute

The death of Mohamed Madkour devastated those who knew him and especially those who, like me, had the privilege of being his teacher. Mohamed is one of the few students I met even before he joined the MACI. He used to follow me in the premises of the Arbitration Center in Cairo to express his motivation to me. His determination was not fake. Once recruited, his earnestness was confirmed as he evolved tremendously in the course of the academic year. It was then that he made his way to arbitration and his success in the various moot court competitions showed that. His degree in hand, he continued to be a tireless promoter of the MACI of which, by his very presence, he became the best ambassador.

 

In the course of my 25 years of teaching, Mohamed was one of my most endearing students, and one of those with whom I stayed in touch regularly. It was not uncommon for us to see each other during one of his visits to Paris, during which he would tell me about the evolution of his quickly evolving career. I know he would have gone far. The Global Arbitration Review just echoed this conviction: https://globalarbitrationreview.com/article/1170222/mohamed-madkour—1980-2018?gator_td=0Tctz9kmOLDPaegF47YhJfZ%2ffxwHwD%2fId3BAjcQHDm8jTkwXsjBNRcAbjBwOsazus7BE50usgwFq28un3UUClBR8%2f4vQJqsfr2t0JugcVy0XAnRaGClgI1iYWlONBzLsfLGmyKDK6AaMwonDWxxiHEgQlQBRd%2bAwek%2fsS1WpD4% 2frICttNcz5OwXDNqdmfbDwm1MSyuTC5B22BYsDoC 2bkEWC%%% 2bwIwxvvqXml67qHm2 2f3w% 3d

 

The next MACI promotion will bear his name.

The news of his illness, followed by his inevitable death, plunged all those who appreciated and loved him in stupefaction. I was one of those people. It is not in the order of things that our students leave before us. This is unfair and unbearable. Never again.

 

Thomas Clay.

Master 2 Arbitrage & Commerce International - Université Paris-Saclay

Accueil

Présentation

Qui peut encore ignorer le droit de l’arbitrage international compte tenu de son importance sans cesse plus affirmée ? Discipline à la fois théorique et pratique, le droit de l’arbitrage international se devait de disposer d’un diplôme qui soit intégralement dédié à la maîtrise de ses logiques et à la connaissance de ses mécanismes. Le Master Arbitrage & Commerce International de l’Université de Versailles a pour ambition de proposer une telle formation, qui s’intègre désormais dans l’Université Paris-Saclay de laquelle relève l’Université de Versailles.

Une parfaite maîtrise du droit de l’arbitrage s’accompagne nécessairement d’excellentes connaissances du droit international privé et du droit du commerce international. C’est la raison pour laquelle le Master est conçu dans l’optique d’une parfaite symbiose entre d’une part, l’arbitrage international qui constitue un premier module dirigé par le Professeur Thomas CLAY et, d’autre part, le droit du commerce international, objet d’un second module dirigé par le Doyen Sandrine CLAVEL.

Pour parvenir aux meilleurs résultats et cultiver l’excellence, le Master, parrainé par d’éminents spécialistes de l’arbitrage et du commerce international (Bernard HANOTIAU, Gabrielle KAUFMANN-KOHLER, Mauro RUBINO-SAMMARTANO, Johnny VEEDER et Arnoldo WALD), bénéficie de partenariats directement liés à l’arbitrage et de la médiation.

Qu’ils soient universitaires ou praticiens, les intervenants du Master sont tous des acteurs reconnus dans le monde de l’arbitrage, de la médiation et du commerce international. Les meilleurs spécialistes partagent leur savoir et leur expérience avec les étudiants qui peuvent également compter sur leur soutien, notamment lors de la préparation des différents concours internationaux d’arbitrage et de médiation.

Directeurs

Directeur honoraire

Hommage à Mohamed Madkour

Le décès de Mohamed Madkour bouleverse ceux qui l’ont connu et notamment ceux qui, comme moi, ont eu le privilège d’être leur professeur. Mohamed est un des rares étudiants que j’ai rencontré avant même qu’il intègre le MACI, parce qu’il me poursuivait dans les locaux du centre d’arbitrage du Caire pour me faire part de sa motivation. Elle n’était pas feinte et elle s’est confirmée quand, une fois recruté, il s’est démultiplié au cours de son année universitaire pendant laquelle il a énormément progressé. C’est là qu’il s’est forgé à l’arbitrage et sa réussite aux différents concours de plaidoirie l’a montré. Son diplôme en poche, il a continué à être un inlassable promoteur du MACI dont, par sa seule présence, il devenait le meilleur ambassadeur.

De mes 25 ans d’enseignements, Mohamed fut l’un des mes étudiants les plus attachants, et l’un de ceux avec qui j’étais resté en contact, régulièrement. Il n’était pas rare qu’on se voit lors d’un de ses passages à Paris, qu’il me raconte l’évolution de sa carrière, qui allait vite et qui devait aller plus loin encore. Le Global Arbitration Revue vient de s’en faire l’écho : https://globalarbitrationreview.com/article/1170222/mohamed-madkour-–-1980-2018?gator_td=0Tctz9kmOLDPaegF47YhJfZ%2ffxwHwD%2fId3BAjcQHDm8jTkwXsjBNRcAbjBwOsazus7BE50usgwFq28un3UUClBR8%2f4vQJqsfr2t0JugcVy0XAnRaGClgI1iYWlONBzLsfLGmyKDK6AaMwonDWxxiHEgQlQBRd%2bAwek%2fsS1WpD4%2frICttNcz5OwXDNqdmfbDwm1MSyuTC5B22BYsDoC%2bkEWC%2bwIwxvvqXml67qHm2%2f3w%3d

La prochaine promotion du MACI portera son nom.

La nouvelle de sa maladie, puis de son ineluctable décès, a plongé tous ceux qui l’appréciaient et l’aimaient dans la sidération. J’étais de ceux là. Il n’est pas dans l’ordre des choses que nos étudiants partent avant nous.

C’est injuste et insupportable.

Plus jamais ça.

Thomas Clay.

 

logo paris-saclay